Staff's blog

7 Libertarian Candidates Win Over One Million Votes

7 Libertarian candidates received one million votes or more in the 2012 General Election:

Gov. Gary Johnson for President - with Judge Jim Gray for VP: 1,191,420 votes

Mark W. Bennett (TX) Court of Criminal Appeals: 1,326,526 votes

William Bryan Strange (TX) Court of Criminal Appeals: 1,313,746 votes

RS Roberto Koelsch (TX) Texas Supreme Court: 1,280,886 votes

Jaime O. Perez (TX) Railroad Commissioner: 1,122,792 votes

David Staples (GA) Public Service Commission, District 5: 1,082,481 votes

Libertarian US Senate Results

Below are the General Election results for the 2012 Libertarian US Senate candidates. In light of the overwhelming volume of free media granted the Democrats and Republicans in these races, coupled with the media and others excluding Libertarian candidates from some or all of the debates, these are exceptionally good results:

Republicans Blame Libertarian Candidate Horning for U.S. Senate Defeat

Hate Mail from Republican Partisans Floods Libertarian Inbox

As this Washington Post article predicted, Libertarian Andrew Horning was the "Nader" of the 2012 U.S.

New LP Milestone Reached: Bruce Majors Wins Ballot Access in D.C.

Bruce Majors, the Libertarian Party candidate for Delegate to the US House of Representatives, won ballot access for the LP in Washington D.C. for the first time in the party's history.

Majors won 14,259 votes, nearly double the 7,500 needed for ballot access. He finished second behind entrenched incumbent Democrat Eleanor Holmes Norton, and easily surpassed a Statehood Green Party candidate.

LP Gubernatorial Election Results

Here are the results for the Libertarian Party candidates for Governor:

Rupert Boneham (IN) 4.0%

Ron Vandevender (MT) 3.7%

John Babiarz (NH) 2.9%

Jim Higgins (MO) 2.7%

Ken Larson (UT) 2.2%

Barbara Howe (NC) 2.1% *

David Moran (WV) 1.3% *

Roland Riemers (ND) 0.8%

Libertarian Votes Result in LP Having Ballot Access in 30 States

The 2012 elections were great for the Libertarian Party's ballot access because of gains in several states, especially in North Carolina where the value of retaining party status, i.e., the petitioning cost that it will save the LP, is greater than all other gains and losses combined.

Here is an overview of how the LP fared:

Barbara Howe Campaign Secures Critical Ballot Access in NC Saving LP Over $300k

The Libertarian campaign of Barbara Howe for Governor in North Carolina scored a major victory for the LP which will save party donors over $300,000 in future petitioning costs.

Richard Brubaker Retains Wyoming Ballot Access

Libertarian US House of Representatives candidate Richard Brubaker won 8,286 votes, or 3.4% of the vote last night, and retained ballot access for the Libertarian Party in Wyoming.

To retain ballot access, a candidate for the US House, Secretary of State, or Governor must get 2%.

Only the race for US House was on the ballot this election cycle.

1,233,168 Votes for Gov. Gary Johnson. Record-Setting Libertarian Party Presidential Vote

Gary Johnson Breaks Ed Clark’s 1980 Vote Record of 921,128 Votes for President of the United States

2012 Libertarian Presidential Ticket of Gov. Gary Johnson and Judge Jim Gray More Than DOUBLED the 2008 Vote Total of Bob Barr and Wayne Root.

Top 3 States for Gov. Gary Johnson and Judge Jim Gray

New Mexico - 3.5% of the Vote

Montana – 2.9% of the Vote

Alaska – 2.5% of the Vote

2 Key Factors that Held Down Gary Johnson’s Vote Total


Subscribe to RSS - Staff's blog
Subscribe to RSS - Staff's blog