

CONFERENCE CALL MINUTES JULY 17-18, 2011

DRAFT DISTRIBUTION DATE: JULY 19, 2011

CURRENT STATUS: AUTO-APPROVED AUGUST 2, 2011

ATTENDANCE

Executive Committee members present were: Mark Hinkle (Chair), Alicia Mattson (Secretary), Bill Redpath (Treasurer), Kevin Knedler, Jim Lark, and Mary Ruwart.

Other LNC members present were: Doug Craig, Stewart Flood, Dan Karlan, Vicki Kirkland, Rebecca Sink-Burris, Dan Wiener, and Andy Wolf.

Executive Director Wes Benedict was present, as was legal counsel Gary Sinawski.

Representing the Libertarian Party of South Dakota were Tony Ryan and Samuel Saunders.

Representing the two groups both claiming to be the leadership of the Libertarian Party of Oregon were Wes Wagner, H. Joe Tabor, Richard Skyba, Tim Reeves, and Richard Burke.

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order at 11:35 am Eastern on July 17, 2011.

AGENDA

The purpose of the meeting was to address two subjects:

- 1) Ballot access funds request for South Dakota
- Status of the Oregon affiliate, including a discussion with representatives from each of two groups claiming to be the leadership of the Oregon affiliate and also an Executive Session with the LNC's legal counsel

SOUTH DAKOTA BALLOT ACCESS

Mr. Redpath moved to encumber \$22,000 for a party petition drive in South Dakota to be completed in 2011.

A party petition for South Dakota would be due March 1, 2012. It would require 7,928 valid signatures, and it would effect ballot access for 2012 and 2014. In November 2014, a Libertarian candidate for governor would need to receive 2.5% of the vote to retain ballot access for the next cycle. Dr. Saunders of South Dakota indicated that if no other governor candidate is found, he will run for governor at that time.

Voting on the motion:

Aye: Hinkle, Knedler, Lark, Mattson, Redpath, Ruwart

Nay: (none)

The motion was adopted by a vote of 6-0.

STATUS OF THE OREGON AFFILIATE

Each of the two groups claiming to be the officers of the Libertarian Party of Oregon was given five minutes to make a statement to the Executive Committee. Following that, LNC members had the opportunity to ask the groups questions they still had after having read the extensive amount of written material submitted to the LNC over the past several months.

Dr. Ruwart moved that the Executive Committee defer action on this matter until the August LNC meeting in Columbus, Ohio. As a result of some points of information, it was indicated that additional information not yet presented might speak to the timeliness issue. The motion failed for lack of a second.

Dr. Lark moved that the Executive Committee enter executive session with our legal counsel to discuss legal matters and that we thank our guests for their time.

Voting on the motion:

Aye: Hinkle, Knedler, Lark, Mattson, Redpath, Ruwart

Nay: (none)

The motion was adopted by a vote of 6-0.

A roll call compared with the conference system count of 13 participants indicated that no guests from South Dakota and Oregon remained on the call, and Mr. Wolf and Mr. Craig had disconnected.

The Executive Committee entered executive session at 1:20pm Eastern.

During executive session, two Executive Committee members found it necessary to disconnect from the call to attend to other obligations – Dr. Ruwart departing approximately 15 minutes into the executive session, and Mr. Knedler departing in the final moments of executive session.

The Executive Committee arose from executive session at 2:20pm Eastern.

The four Executive Committee members still present expressed a reluctance to take action with three members absent.

Without objection at 2:23pm Eastern the Executive Committee adjourned to 9pm Eastern on July 18 to continue discussion of the Libertarian Party affiliate in Oregon.

STATUS OF THE OREGON AFFILIATE - CONTINUED

The Executive Committee came back to order at 9:10pm Eastern on July 18, 2011.

Executive Committee members present were: Mark Hinkle (Chair), Mark Rutherford (Vice-Chair), Alicia Mattson (Secretary), Bill Redpath (Treasurer), Kevin Knedler, Jim Lark, and Mary Ruwart.

Other LNC members present were: Randy Eshelman, Stewart Flood, Dan Karlan, Vicki Kirkland, Rebecca Sink-Burris, and Dan Wiener.

Executive Director Wes Benedict and legal counsel Gary Sinawski were present.

Without objection the Executive Committee entered executive session at 9:13pm Eastern to recap material for the benefit of those not present for all of yesterday's executive session.

The Executive Committee arose from executive session at 9:27pm Eastern.

Mr. Rutherford moved to adopt the following resolution:

"Based upon the available evidence, the Executive Committee of the Libertarian National Committee finds that the Bylaws of the Libertarian Party of Oregon (as amended March 14-15, 2009) are the Bylaws of the Libertarian Party of Oregon, and that these bylaws have been in effect since March 15, 2009."

After brief discussion, Mr. Redpath moved the previous question, which was adopted without objection.

Voting on the main motion:

Aye: Hinkle, Knedler, Lark, Mattson, Redpath, Rutherford

Nay: Ruwart

The main motion was adopted by a vote of 6-1.

Mr. Rutherford moved to adopt the following resolution:

"Based upon the available evidence, the Executive Committee of the Libertarian National Committee recognizes as the officers of the Libertarian Party of Oregon those people elected by the State Committee during its meeting on May 21, 2011. They are:

Chair: Tim Reeves Vice chair: Eric B. Saub Secretary: Carla J. Pealer Treasurer: Gregory Burnett"

After discussion, Mr. Redpath moved the previous question, which was adopted without objection.

Voting on the main motion:

Aye: Hinkle, Knedler, Lark, Mattson, Redpath, Rutherford

Nay: Ruwart

The main motion was adopted by a vote of 6-1.

Mr. Rutherford moved to adopt the following resolution:

"The Executive Committee of the Libertarian National Committee urges the members of the Libertarian Party of Oregon to work together to resolve their disagreements."

Mr. Redpath moved the previous question, which was adopted without objection.

Voting on the main motion:

Aye: Hinkle, Knedler, Lark, Mattson, Redpath, Rutherford, Ruwart

Nay: (none)

The main motion was adopted by a vote of 7-0.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned without objection at 9:39pm Eastern.