EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MINUTES LIBERTARIAN NATIONAL COMMITTEE AUGUST 14, 2023 VIA ZOOM



PREPARED BY CARYN ANN HARLOS, LNC SECRETARY

TABLE OF CONTENTS

OPENING CEREMONY	4
CALL TO ORDER	4
HOUSEKEEPING	4
EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEMBER ATTENDANCE	4
REMAINING LNC MEMBER ATTENDANCE	4
OPPORTUNITY FOR PUBLIC COMMENT	4
PURPOSE OF EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING	5
EXECUTIVE SESSION	5
NEW BUSINESS WITH PREVIOUS NOTICE	5
APPOINTMENT OF INVESTIGATORY COMMITTEE	5
ADJOURNMENT	6
TABLE OF NUMBERED MOTIONS/BALLOTS	6
TABLE OF APPENDICES	7
APPENDIX A – LOG OF REGISTRANTS	8

LEGEND: <u>text to be inserted</u>, <u>text to be deleted</u>, unchanged existing text, substantive final main motions.

All main substantive motions will be set off by **bold and italics in green font** (with related subsidiary and incidental motions set off by highlighted italics) and will be assigned a motion number comprising the date and a sequential number to be recorded in the Secretary's Main Motion/Ballot Tally record located at https://tinyurl.com/LNCVotes2023

Points of Order and substantive objections will be indicated in **BOLD RED TEXT**.

All vote results, challenges, and rulings will be set off by **BOLD ITALICS**.

The LPedia article for this meeting can be found at: <u>https://lpedia.org/wiki/LNC Executive Committee Meeting 14 August 2023</u>

Recordings for this meeting can be found at the LPedia link.

The QR codes lead to the video portion of the video being discussed.

OPENING CEREMONY

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Angela McArdle called the meeting to order at 8:36 p.m. (all times Eastern).

HOUSEKEEPING

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEMBER ATTENDANCE

The following were in attendance:

Officers: Angela McArdle (Chair), Andrew Watkins (Vice-Chair), Caryn Ann Harlos (Secretary), Todd Hagopian (Treasurer)

Non-Officers: Rich Bowen (At-Large), Steven Nekhaila (At-Large), Kathy Yeniscavich (At-Large)

REMAINING LNC MEMBER ATTENDANCE

At-Large Representatives: Dustin Blankenship, Mike Rufo

Regional Representatives: Miguel Duque (Region 1), Dave Benner (Region 2), Dustin Nanna (Region 3), Adrian F Malagon (Region 4), Otto Dassing (Region 5), Mark Tuniewicz (Region 6), Donovan Pantke (Region 7), Pat Ford (Region 8)

Regional Alternates: Vacant (Region 1), Martin Cowen (Region 2), Greg Hertzsch (Region 3), Joshua Clark (Region 4), Bill Redpath (Region 6), Vacant (Region 7), Robley Hall (Region 8)

Absent: Will Hyman (Region 5 Alternate)

Staff: None. Volunteer Carrie Eiler served as room moderator during Executive Session.

Additional Attendees: Richard Brown (Parliamentarian), Oliver Hall (General Counsel)

The gallery contained many attendees as noted in the Registration Roster attached hereto as **Appendix A** comprising persons who registered in advance, though not all of the registrants attended.

OPPORTUNITY FOR PUBLIC COMMENT

The following persons spoke during public comment:

• Harrison Kemp (ME)

- Colin Morgan (WA)
- George Phillies (MA)

PURPOSE OF EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING

Notice was given for the following items:

- Potential litigation issues and political strategy regarding confidentiality.
- The appointment of an investigatory committee regarding preferral of charges for allegations of violations of confidentiality by an LNC member to meet immediately prior to the Saturday portion of the LNC Meeting in DC and report back to the LNC as the first item of business.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

WITHOUT OBJECTION, upon motion by Mr. Nekhaila, the Executive Committee went into Executive Session at 8:56 p.m. with the rest of the LNC, excluding Region 1 Representative Miguel Duque, and including Oliver Hall. During Executive Session, Richard Brown was invited to participate.¹

The Executive Committee rose out of Executive Session at 11:16 pm.

NEW BUSINESS WITH PREVIOUS NOTICE

APPOINTMENT OF INVESTIGATORY COMMITTEE

Secretary Harlos moved for the appointment of an investigatory committee comprising Andrew Watkins and the regional representatives (excluding Miguel Duque) regarding potential preferral of charges for allegations of intentional violations of confidentiality by Miguel Duque to meet immediately prior to the Saturday portion of the LNC Meeting in DC and report back to the LNC as the first item of business.

A roll call vote was conducted with the following results:

Member	Yes	No	Abstain
Bowen	X		
Hagopian	X		
Harlos	X		
Nekhaila	X		
Watkins	X		
Yeniscavich	X		

¹ Mr. Duque had attempted to raise a *POINT OF ORDER* that Chair McArdle should not be presiding at this meeting. Secretary Harlos objected on the basis that this is an Executive Committee meeting, and as a non-member of the Executive Committee, Mr. Duque did not have standing to raise a Point of Order.

Member	Yes	No	Abstain
McArdle			X
TOTALS	6	0	1

This motion PASSED with a roll call vote of 6-0-1. [20230814-01]

Secretary Harlos moved to restore access to the LNC email list to Mr. Duque.

A roll call vote was conducted with the following results:

Member	Yes	No	Abstain
Bowen	Χ		
Hagopian	Χ		
Harlos	Χ		
Nekhaila	X		
Watkins	Χ		
Yeniscavich	X		
McArdle			X
TOTALS	6	0	1

This motion PASSED with a roll call vote of 6-0-1. [20230814-02]

ADJOURNMENT

The Executive Committee adjourned for the day *WITHOUT OBJECTION* at 11:19 p.m.

TABLE OF NUMBERED MOTIONS/BALLOTS

*Note that the master log of motions in 2023 can be found here: <u>https://tinyurl.com/LNCVotes2023</u>

ID#	Motion/Ballot	Result
20230814-01	Appointment of Investigatory Committee	PASSED
20230814-02	Restore Access to LNC Email list	PASSED

	TABLE OF APPENDICES	
Appendix	Title	Author
Α	Log of Registrants	Zoom

Respectfully submitted,

Caryo ann Harles

LNC Secretary ~ Secretary@LP.org ~ 561.523.2250

APPENDIX A – LOG OF REGISTRANTS

REGISTRATION SHEET²

NAME
Sylvia Arrowwood
Trevor Best
Tyler Braaten
Layla Bush
Brad Carpenter
Carrie Eiler
Nicole Giver
Jared Hall
Adam Haman
Shawn Hickman
Will Hobson
Susan Hogarth
Jonathan M. Jacobs
Raheli Kalpin
Simon Kalpin
Harrison Kemp
Stuart Knight
Rich Leach
Nathan Madden
Charles Melchin
Colin Morgan
Maya Ojalehto
George Phillies
Pablo Serrato
Larry Silver
Cody Smith
Dave Sorensen

² The Zoom link required registration. This list comprises all persons who registered (with the exception of LNC members, staff, and other national Party representatives) but not everyone necessarily attended.