Patrick Henry Candidate Award

Awards 2016

2020 Award Winners: Bethany Baldes & Laura Ebke

The Patrick Henry Candidate Award is for recognition of a very effective campaign for public office at the state or federal level, while communicating Libertarian Ideas, principles, and values. The recipients of the 2020 Patrick Henry Candidate Award are Bethany Baldes and Laura Ebke.

Bethany Baldes

Bethany Baldes ran for election to the Wyoming House of Representatives District 55 in 2018, coming up 53 votes short of defeating the House Majority Leader. Ms. Baldes is running for the seat again this year. She serves on the board of the Central Wyoming Children’s Center for Art Technology and Science, and volunteers on the Riverton Park Committee.

Laura Ebke

Laura Ebke served as a State Senator in the Nebraska legislature from 2015 to 2019. She has achieved outstanding success in removing barriers for Nebraskans, including occupational licensing reform, as a Libertarian state senator. Following the 2016 legislative session, Sen. Ebke switched her party registration to the Libertarian Party. She ran for re-election in 2018 as a Libertarian, where she received enough votes in the primary election to advance, but lost in the general election. At the 2020 Libertarian National Convention, she was elected to be an At-Large Representative on the Libertarian National Committee.

Past Patrick Henry Candidate Award Winners

2012: Lex Green and Travis Irvine
2014: Rupert Boneham and Robert Sarvis
2016: Will Hammer
2018: Mark Miller