Thomas Jefferson Leadership Award

Awards 2016

2022 Award Winners: Jim Turney and Mark Hinkle

The Thomas Jefferson Leadership Award is for recognition of outstanding leadership, high character, and dedication to the principles and goals of the Party. The recipients of the 2022 Thomas Jefferson Leadership Award are Jim Turney and Mark Hinkle.

Jim Turney

Congratulations to James B. “Jim” Turney for being awarded the prestigious Thomas Jefferson Leadership Award for the Libertarian Party in 2022! This award is an acknowledgement of his incredible professional, political, and civic accomplishments to date. Jim Turney is a no stranger to success – he has served as chair of the Libertarian National Committee from 1985 to 1988, ran for Virginia’s 3rd district House of Representatives seat in 1980, and was even recently elected commissioner for Altamonte Springs, Florida in 2017! It is definitely well-deserved recognition of Mr. Turney’s commitment and dedication to advancing the causes that he holds dear. We couldn’t be more proud or excited to celebrate this immense achievement!

Mark Hinkle

At the 2010 National Convention in St. Louis, Mark Hinkle was elected national Chairman of the Libertarian Party. As Chairman, he served as the Chief Executive Officer of the national Libertarian Party and was chair of the Libertarian National Committee (LNC). He has done many volunteer jobs for the National Party and went on to become a member of the Executive Committee. Mark served 10 years as either an LNC Regional Representative or an alternate. He also served on the national Platform Committee and in 2010 was elected Chairman of the national Libertarian Party. Mark Hinkle currently lives in Morgan Hill, California with his wife Linda and his son Logan. He runs a small business in the San Francisco South Bay Area that focuses on child safety and drowning prevention.

Past Thomas Jefferson Leadership Award Winners

1996: David Nolan
1998: David Bergland
2000: Ed Clark
2002: John Perry
2004: Ron Crickenberger
2006: Harry Browne
2008: Ruth Bennett and Jim Lark
2010: Bill Redpath
2012: Sharon Harris
2014: Pat Dixon
2016: BetteRose Ryan
2018: Julie Fox
2020: Ken Moellman, Emily Salvette