Call for Nominations: Libertarian Party Awards for the 2016 National LP Convention

The following awards will be presented during the 2016 National LP Convention in Orlando, Florida.

THOMAS JEFFERSON Leadership Award – will be presented to the LP member whose achievements merit our recognition of outstanding leadership, high character, and dedication to the principles and goals of the Party.

PATRICK HENRY Candidate Award – will be presented to the LP member who has been a very effective candidate for public office at the state or federal level, while communicating Libertarian ideas, principles, and values. Nominees can be candidates in 2014 and thereafter.

THOMAS PAINE Communication Award – will be presented to the LP member who has been an outstanding communicator of Libertarian ideas, principles, and values through written, published, or spoken communications.

SAMUEL ADAMS Activism Award – will be presented to the LP member who has been a very effective activist by building Party membership, organizing community outreach, or communicating Libertarian principles.


The Hall of Liberty, established in 2012, honors lifetime or significant achievement that has made a lasting impact on the Libertarian Party and/or libertarian movement.  Induction into the Hall of Liberty requires a unanimous vote of the Awards Committee; at most three people can be inducted per national convention.

Send in Your Award Nominations 

LP members are welcome to send nominations for these awards to the Awards Committee at with supporting documents.  

Nominees for the Jefferson, Henry, Paine, and Adams awards must be members of the Libertarian Party (i.e., they have signed the certification).  

Nominees for the Hall of Liberty need not be members of the Libertarian Party.

Nominations must be received no later than
5:00 p.m. ET on April 11.  

Nominations should include: (please be concise)

  • Nominated for the _____________ Award/Nominated for the Hall of Liberty
  • Full name of the nominee, address, email and phone contact information, and (where appropriate) years as an LP member.  A photo would also be helpful, if possible.
  • General paragraph describing the nominee and (where appropriate) the nominee’s positions in the Party, how you came to know his or her achievements, etc.
  • Specific and detailed accomplishments which warrant the Award
  • Optional: link to a video
  • Name(s) of people that support this nomination
  • Anyone that should be considered to assist in the award presentation
  • Whether you are attending the 2016 national convention

Members of the LP Awards Committee (Tim Hagan, Daniel Hayes, Kevin Knedler, James Lark, Roland Riemers) can be reached via

Your nominations are greatly appreciated.

Awards are named after champions of freedom

Thomas Jefferson was our third President, Governor of Virginia and Secretary of State.  The most influential Founder, he was the primary author of the Declaration of Independence.  He favored a limited national government.  He negotiated the Louisiana Purchase, directed the Lewis and Clark Expedition and led the development of the University of Virginia. 

Patrick Henry was an orator and politician who led the movement for independence.  He led the opposition to the Stamp Act and is famous for his “Give me Liberty or Give me Death” speech. He was elected to multiple terms as Governor of Virginia.

Thomas Paine, who came to the colonies from England as an adult, was the author (anonymous) of the powerful and rational pamphlet Common Sense, which advocated independence.  It was hugely popular; some 120,000 copies circulated in the colonies.  He is remembered for his words about the Revolution: “These are the times that try men’s souls.”

Samuel Adams was a very influential colonist who voiced effective and continuous opposition to the Crown.  He urged colonists to defend their rights and freedom. He led town meetings to protest colonial taxes.  He won election as Lieutenant Governor of Massachusetts and later succeeded John Hancock as Governor.