LP Monday Message: New National Committee members elected

May 31, 2010

Dear Friend of Liberty,

Today is Memorial Day, and I enjoyed reading these comments from David Boaz at the Cato Institute.

At the Libertarian National Convention in St. Louis over this Memorial Day weekend, the following individuals were elected to serve as officers and other members of the Libertarian National Committee (LNC) for the next two years:

Mark Hinkle

Vice Chairman
Mark Rutherford

Alicia Mattson

James Oaksun

At-Large Members
Kevin Knedler
David Nolan
William Redpath
Wayne Allyn Root
Mary Ruwart

We’re still gathering the final results of the elections for Regional Representatives.

I’d like to congratulate all the newly elected members, and also to thank the outgoing members for their hard work and dedication.

Next week, on June 8, there will be an election in California on “Proposition 14,” a measure to adopt a top-two primary system. If this measure passes, it may be very damaging to alternative parties like the Libertarian Party. If you would like to help fight this measure by making phone calls to voters, please contact Beau Cain with the Libertarian Party of California by calling toll-free 877-884-1776. (You do not need to live in California to help with this.)


Wes Benedict
Executive Director
Libertarian National Committee

P.S. If you have not yet become a member of the Libertarian Party and
wish to do so, please click here and join the only political party dedicated to free markets and civil liberties. If you need to renew, please click here. If you would like to make a contribution separate from membership, please click here.