Sarwark wins unprecedented 3rd consecutive term as Libertarian national chair

'I believe not in some of your freedoms some of the time, not ingun rights or gay rights; I believe in all of your freedoms, all of the time. That's who I am.' — Nicholas Sarwark, LNC Chair

Nicholas Sarwark won an unprecedented third consecutive term on July 2 as chair of the Libertarian National Committee, in balloting by delegates to the 2018 Libertarian National Convention in New Orleans. He received a landslide 65 percent of the vote on the first ballot in a seven-way race. Sarwark ran on his record of presiding over the best presidential vote total in Libertarian Party history in the 2016 election, as well as increasing the party’s campaign and media support staff, made possible by the best fundraising results in a non–presidential election year for the past 14 years.

Although former Libertarian Party presidential candidate David Bergland served three terms as the party’s national chair, from 1977 to 1981, and again from 1998 to 2000, this is the first time in Libertarian Party history that a chair has been elected to a third term in a row.

Placing second was Joshua Smith, who had campaigned actively for the position, and who received 22 percent of the vote. Smith traveled to numerous state conventions and campaigned on a platform of his ability to provide leadership to increase fundraising, marketing, and media attention. After the “Stick with Nick” campaign won the day, Smith indicated he would go on to run for an at-large seat on the Libertarian National Committee.

Rounding out the vote totals, Christopher Thrasher received 5.8 percent, None of the Above received 4 percent, Matthew Kuehnel received 1.6 percent, and John Keil received 0.5 percent. Two other candidates each received 0.1 percent of the vote.

Upon his reelection, Sarwark thanked the delegates for making him “the least important person in the party” for a third consecutive term. After the convention, he will return to Phoenix and try to continue his winning streak in his campaign for mayor of Phoenix.

On July 3, the convention selects its vice-chair, secretary, treasurer, and other members of the Libertarian National Committee.