Seven Libertarians vying for LP nomination in U.S. House special election

Seven Libertarians in Montana are vying to be the LP nominee for an anticipated special election for the state’s at-large congressional seat this spring: Rick Breckenridge, Josiah Loven, Rufus Peace, James White, Mark Wicks, Chris Colvin, and Brad Molnar.

The winner will replace Republican Ryan Zinke, whom President Donald Trump nominated to be secretary of the Department of the Interior.

Delegates to the LP Montana state convention will choose the nominee on February 19, at the Eagles Lodge in Helena.

The U.S. Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources approved Zinke by a 16–6 vote on January 31. His nomination now moves to the full Senate, which is expected to confirm him in the next few weeks.

Montana state law requires the governor to call for a special election to be held no fewer than 85 and no more than 100 days after the vacancy. No primary election will be held. The Democratic, Republican, and Libertarian parties will choose their nominees.