Libertarians elected on April 5

Five Libertarian candidates were elected in nonpartisan municipal elections on Tuesday, April 5, 2011.

In Kansas, Andrew Gray was elected to the Topeka City Council, District 8 with 62.5% of the vote, defeating the incumbent. Topeka is the fourth-largest city in Kansas.

In Illinois, three Libertarians were elected:

Steve Hellin was elected to the O’Fallon District 90 School Board. Seven candidates ran for three seats, and Hellin placed third.

Doug Marks was elected as a Carpentersville Village Trustee. Five candidates ran for three seats, and Marks placed first.

Karin Vermillion was elected to the Mahomet Library Board, as one of three candidates running for three seats.

In Missouri, Doug Burlison was re-elected to the Springfield City Council. He defeated his challenger with 62.4% of the vote. Springfield is the third-largest city in Missouri.

Other Libertarian candidates who were on the April 5 ballot:

Edwin Everly for Rantoul Township High School Board (Illinois)
Karen Green for Bloomington City Council Ward 2 (Illinois)
Jeff Ready for Bloomington City Council Ward 6 (Illinois)
Don Stover for Greenville City Council (Illinois)
Brian Sasso for Lincoln-Way High School Board (Illinois)
J.D. Horton for Grayville Mayor (Illinois)
Jeff Foli for Chillicothe City Council (Missouri)
Muir Boda for Salisbury City Council (Maryland)