Wisconsin LP Gets Four Wins in Spring Primary

Brian Defferding

Brian Defferding

Two Wisconsin Libertarian Party candidates were elected to office on April 7, 2020, and two already serving were reelected to their seats.

Wisconsin LP vice-chair Brian Defferding was unopposed in running for reelection to the Winnebago County Board of Supervisors in district 16.

Dave Ripp was reelected again to the Dane County Board of Supervisors in district 29. He also was unopposed, and has held that office since 1984.

Joe Prohaska was elected to the Appleton City Council in district 14, with 705 votes in a one-on-one race.

Robert Reynolds was elected to the Edgerton City Council in district 2, with 58% in a one-on-one race, receiving 292 votes.

“The LPWI and myself have placed emphasis on running and winning at the local level”, said Wisconsin LP chair Matt Bughman.

“What is really exciting is this election resulted in the most Libertarian Candidate being elected in the 30 plus years of the LPWI. Each candidate won because they put in the work knocking doors, securing endorsements from local officials, and having positive attitudes, which allowed them to connect with the voters.”